Old Chapstick and a New Job

Coffee. Pen. Ten minutes until go time. Add all of it up and it is unlikely to equal 3 pages.

I feel it. I feel the lack of pages. Like the words have rubbed the inside of my skull raw. This week there have been extra ones cramming in, sitting on each others’ laps unwelcomed. Some spill out like a child’s confession to grandma of what daddy told mommy last night.

My mind, and the play place at the fast food joint are in a race. Which one can tally up the most tantrums? Who will fill the seats fastest and have marker on the wall first?

a new place to step off an edge

a new place to step off an edge

New does this.

Promotions, with their step-up, elevated mentality are essentially another square one. Climbing the ladder has its own altitude sickness–the arrogance which comes from declaring their position in the past as now anecdotal, a trifle that someone surely misconstrued.

For others, maybe.

I see my 3rd grade picture as I walk into the new office. Not my first frozen posed school record. It is the one with my lips pouty from Jodi’s carmex; applied in a rush as we stood, single-file on the out-of-bounds line in the gym.

It is my first day, and I’m waiting for them to notice my lips swelling from the allergic reaction, a mistake with no blame. My eight-year-old self looks out of my thirty-something eyes and sees faces not looking for faults, or chapstick fiascoes. Because, honestly, chapstick doesn’t last 33 years no matter what the fine print on my ego says.

_______________________________________

*Technically I should ask for forgiveness…I wrote this in my journal this morning, in something less than ten minutes..all but the last two sentences which didn’t fit on the page and just had to be coaxed out from a darkened corner to wrap it all up nice. I’m usually a rule player. Today I’m a rule breaker.

Because I like to do what Lisa Jo says:

Meet the #FMFParty Writers:

And did you know there’s a whole community of writers that connect online before the prompt goes live on Friday nights? They use the Twitter hashtag #FMFParty and are about the most encouraging group around.

Now, set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

Leave a Reply

