Gathered Words

imagejpeg_2(2)I can’t remember not doing it.

I know that the summer I got my own library card I was thrilled to no end. I sat in the shade of trees on the courthouse lawn and read. And read. And read about young girls who sat and read instead of doing their chores. Of girls who watched the clouds instead of the cows in the pasture.

Being asleep is a great way to avoid being critical. Gretchen Rubin

Back then, I didn’t have to write down my favorite words to remember them. It wasn’t long before there were words upon words I wanted to tuck away. Words on receipts. Words typed out on my typewriter and put in folders. Folders that moved in to box after box as I moved from coast to desert and back.

You don’t have to lose everything to know your own poverty. Edie Wadsworth

I keep reading, scribbling and tucking these notes everywhere. Now there are more ways to hide these words away, more ways to lose them or organize them, if order is more your bent than mine.

Lately, I have been reading more than writing, it comes in cycles. This time was the season for me to write and I spent it reading. Sitting in silence. Speaking into my voice recorder the fragments that came through raspy breath on long walks.

I needed to accept my own nature–yet I needed to push myself as well. this seemed contradictory; but in my heart, I knew the difference between lack of interest and fear of failure. Gretchen Rubin

I’m not known for being logical. I understand sitting alone in silence and declaring yourself a writer, one on trial retirement from the rest of life so that she can write, seems contradictory. Building installation pieces and calling yourself a painter gets some odd looks too, but it didn’t stop Rauschenberg.

As an artist, I wouldn’t call myself imaginative. I do have a passion for observing, absorbing.

These baubles from the alphabet, arranged like fine French gardens, are tucked away as mementos of my journey. They flavor the pot of wonder in which I am stewing.

If I knew where I was going, I would perhaps know what I would need. This trip has left open the table to entertain whomever, or whatever may choose to sit, to speak, or to offer a plate for sharing.

There isn’t one great thing you were made to do. There is one great God you were made to glorify. Emily P Freeman

Come. Sit. Read. Do the thing most opposite of that which you feel you should be doing. Share when stopping helped you start. Or eating made you hungry.

Leave a Reply

