Days to Remember

***UPDATE*****

Joy has been sponsored! How is that for an early birthday present? But please, don’t let that stop you from clicking over to my compassion page and see who else is waiting for their own sponsor.

And I must say a BIG big thank you to Joy’s sponsor.

*************************************************

I’m walking on the beach when I remember that it is the 22nd today.

4 months from today I will flip the calendar of my life over to a new year.

I remember when I used to wait for a birthday. For holidays.

Then I remember someone else who shares my birthday. I spent my breath to blow out the flames on sending the wish out loud and clear over here.

I remember what the streets smelled like. I remember seeing the women sweeping the street with brooms and their too short handles. The beautiful mandalas made each morning.

I remember the baby with the broken legs. She was run over by an auto-rickshaw. Abandoned. It hurt for people to hold her.

These are the images I recall when I think of a number like 22 and a boy named Joy who waits for a gift like you.

_________________________________________

Join in the party?

Now, set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

6 thoughts on “Days to Remember

  1. Shannon Cochran says:

    Howdy, LolaGirl. I’m stopping by to say I appreciate the special children you’re remembering this FMF. My hubby and I have five children. When they turn 4, we let them choose a Compassion child to sponsor. Like you, my kids share a Birthday with their sponsored child. Thanks for sharing your compassionate, calendar memory.

Leave a Reply

