Before the Fireworks

The good from the day.

Grey skies. Clouds. Rain. Humidity. 

Image

Two hikes full of the lusciously humid smells of the desert.

Being reminded to look instead of simply seeing.

So I practiced. I was reminded of pans in the bakery of the store my parents owned. Of cookie sheets in my grandmothers’ kitchens. I baked bread this morning and took some time to record what I saw. Not necessarily an interesting photograph, but a photograph of an interesting object. (One professors distinction between art and Art.)

Image

Now it is time for the fireworks. A few moments to sit in awe the same way you did when you were 7. 

Happy 4th. I hope you have felt the blessings of independence today.

Leave a Reply

