Pondering and a Poem

I’m still pondering my word for 2012. Days whir by but my mind is slow. For this I am grateful.

There are a lot of wonderful and personal words out there. Words that I thought about back in July when I determined to start a new year on my birthday. So this January 1 is more a half-way mark, a place to reset sights and gauge growth.

While I ponder, here is a poem to keep you until I return. It has been my favorite for awhile and now resides in the front of my life book–which I started in preparation for my new birthday year. Enjoy!

i am running into a new year

by Lucille Clifton

i am running into a new year

and the old years blow back

like a wind

that i catch in my hair

like strong fingers like

all my old promises and

it will be hard to let go

of what i said to myself

about myself

when i was sixteen and

twenty-six and thirty-six but

i am running into a new year and i beg what i love and

i leave to forgive me.

Leave a Reply

