My 35 Plus His 25 More

It’s his birthday but I don’t have a gift. I didn’t forget to shop. I sort of chose not to. Instead I’d like to point him to some writers that are good at pointing up by using the words of living down.

Since he asks what is next, and I don’t have answers. Since all the newness that I know from these past few years is the people that I’ve met (cyberspace and in real life), and the books (or blogs) that I have read. This is what I have to offer.

At your age (*wink*) you may be tempted to rest, but remember:

“I’m coming to see that when God asked me to rest it was actually more about my heart.

Learning to trust instead of strive.

Learning to enjoy rather than push so hard.

Learning to focus on the moment instead of results.

I think of the verse God put on my heart when all this began

“Arise, my darling, my beautiful one, and come with me. See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land. The fig tree forms its early fruit; the blossoming vines spread their fragrance. Arise, come, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me.” Song of Solomon 2:10-13

Rest is an intimate invitation—

not to step away from life but to embrace the Giver of it.” (emphasis on this line, mine)

Holly Gerth @ hollygerth.com

Don’t look for the familiar. Life is a continual walking. You choose the direction, and God blesses the stones before you can step. You won’t feel the blessing until your foot lands on the stone. Keep stepping.

“Hope and risk are syrup sticky. They tangle up the soul with
fear and thrill and dread and peace. The dread comes when we forget to remember that the truth doesn’t always feel true. Hope is a liar and risk walks with a limp. She doesn’t look brave anymore, she looks wounded. And so we search for our comfort zones and look for a hiding place of safety. We grope for familiar and walk with our heads down low. “

Emily P Freeman @ chattingatthesky

“When I say yes to His no, I take steps forward in a direct route towards His trust. My steps here are small, but they’re small steps in the right direction. When in obedience I show a heart’s willingness to be faithful with the small, I show I can be faithful with the big.

Kristen @ Chasing Blue Skies

The answer about work isn’t the easy one. It isn’t the one that is profitable. It is the one intended for you. In doing, in moving forward there is not failure–simply learning. I respect the learning process.

“Three Rules of Work:

Out of clutter find simplicity;

From discord find harmony;

In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.”

Albert Einstein

You were right about the garden. Go there to find answers. Or maybe, actually the garden is the answer. You don’t have to look so hard to find God’s will for your life.

“And there are days when I ask God if he sees the upside down of my life.

I ask Him straight out why He would give me things that seem impossible to balance. Work and children. Children and work. Marriage, tiny rental house,family scattered the globe over.

I tell Him I want easy and that I’m tired of tired.

And then He brings me out here to show me what He made.

That He gives me seasons.

And I can trust Him with change.” (emphasis, mine)

Lisa Jo @ The Gypsy Mama

“Love is always our only art.

Love is always our only hope.”

Ann Voskamp @ A Holy Experience

But remember Who is Love, and that will help work out all the details.

Finally, for the rest of your years, this is the question to ask and keep asking.

So then the question is, are you willing to transform? … to give it up; to be the fool, to re-write your story, to not recognize yourself; to believe differently; to be something, someone, you have not yet known? Sounds miraculous. “

Danielle Laporte @ White Hot Truth

Happy 60th Dad.

One thought on “My 35 Plus His 25 More

Leave a Reply

