Be Compassionate

I am thick-tongued and she is honeyed hot tea smooth and warm.

We are both mothers*. She with 6 in her brood and me with none. Our God knows the why, the how and when of both our lives. How her 6 eat 3 meals a day, and the children we sponsor usually have one. Why her home has beds full of legs and arms and smiles, and I don’t tuck anyone in anymore. She’s up north and I am down south.

Yet we both have left parts of our hearts in countries around the world. She wrote about her journey with Compassion to Guatemala and ended up, unknowingly, taking a part of my heart there too. That’s how Silvana came to be part of my life, one wild and crazy year ago.

My Abba is working out the details of my life, and there are plenty of days that I don’t understand it. I don’t understand how someone could call a little boy in Africa stupid, or me stupid for sending him money. I’ve done so for 15 years. He is nearly a man now. I’m proud of him. I kept the drawings and letters from when he was too young to even write his own name. I am anxiously awaiting the plans he is hearing whispered in his ear about his life.

Those 15 years started when I was still in college. No husband or family and only a part-time job. If I feel sorry for myself for not having something, for wondering how to buy groceries this week, then I’m missing the point. I am resting in His hands and I have always had enough. I have always had the choice. Do I feed just myself or do I share? Do I believe the story of the loaves and fishes? What if the boy had decided he was hungry, that his mom made his lunch and it was his?

My choice isn’t necessarily good for you. I understand. I still want to share what I can. Today I’m sharing resources for you, the choice remains yours.

As we move into the holiday season, I’m sure some folks are gearing up for shopping trips and planning holiday menus. Again this year my holiday choices may not please everyone. I’m ok with that. I’m not here to make anyone happy or to make choices for anyone but me. As the kids I know ask why they didn’t get a present from me this year, again I will say that I gave what I had to someone who needed it this year. I love them all dearly and so I will share in their honor.

If you would rather a child eat for a year, than have one play for a day, maybe you would like to shop over here this year. The shipping is free. No sales tax. Nothing to wrap or forget when you pack the car to go to grandma’s house.

Want to learn more about helping a child have a forever family? You can go here to find out more. Even Uncle Sam will thank you for it.

 Tonight, I go to a screening of 58 to find out more about sharing. If you are interested in hosting a screening, you can find out more here. Saturday I hope to post a review of the film for you all to read.

When we always do what we have always done, we always get what we have always gotten. Is it time to make new choices?

*This is a post for another day. Where I explain why I believe God made me a mother, and yet I have no children of my own. And no I don’t think it’s an oxymoron.

Leave a Reply

