Pry My Fingers…

Linking up and breaking the rules for Five Minute Friday

Rest

Rest doesn’t come so easily. Even with the release in my schedule from 90% of my daily duties. I still struggle with it, against it.

You see, rest cannot be controlled. There I said it. You cannot strong-arm rest. Insist that it happen. Not so much. The more you push, tuck in, or persist, the more bits of peace and serenity chip off that lovely little bit of rest that you were reaching for.

I’d like to require it. I’d like to tell it when to come, how long to stay and what I would like to feel like when I have determined I have had enough of it.

Funny thing that rest comes most often after my body gives out. The migraine overwhelms all of my senses and I must cocoon myself in a long, dark, silent piece of rest. After 33 years of this helpful reminder to rest my body, my spirit, my mind, I still turn a deaf ear to the whispers. I have required 8 feet tall neon lights to halt my spinning, grabbing, stuffing, controlling ways.

This year of new, a year to be, I am working on rest. For rest seems to be more of the verb AM than any other in our language. No faking or contorting what you are, who I am. Just be. And there find rest.

2 thoughts on “Pry My Fingers…

  1. Stacy says:

    “I’d like to require it. I’d like to tell it when to come, how long to stay and what I would like to feel like when I have determined I have had enough of it.”
    Rest often eludes me, too. And like you, I often find it…not by choice…but by my body demanding it.

    I loved your post….

    ~Stacy

Leave a Reply

